ARI Strategic Support Awards

The annual ARI Strategic Support Awards are given to UCSF researchers conducting innovative work in HIV/AIDS. Winners are selected through a competitive review process led by the ARI Director and ARI Leadership Committee, and all submissions are sponsored by an ARI Executive Board member.

Funded in 2020

In 2020, the ARI supported Strategic Awards for a fifth year. This year's awardees are:

Kelly Johnson
Kelly Johnson, MD, MPH

Defining urine tenofovir concentrations among individuals taking TAF-based antiretroviral therapy

Carina Marquez
Carina Marquez, MD

Informing Community and Social-Network Based Interventions to Interrupt Tuberculosis Transmission Among People Living With HIV in Rural Uganda

Sarah Puryear
Sarah Puryear, MD

Perform a cross sectional sampling of alcohol use with the AUDIT-C questionnaire and PEth dried blood spot testing within the SEARCH-Youth cohort

Natalie Wilson
Natalie Wilson, PhD

Assess community needs to improve health in persons economically disadvantaged, racial minorities, LGBTQ people, and the homeless persons living in encampments of Alameda County

Funded in 2019

In 2019, the ARI supported Strategic Awards for a fourth year. The year's awardees are:

Brian Anderson, MD, MSc

Safety and Feasibility of Psilocybin-Assisted Group Therapy for Demoralization in Older Long-Term AIDS Survivors

Monika Roy, MD

Alternative HIV Service Delivery Models: Evaluating Mechanisms of Intervention Effect

Parya Saberi, PharmD

Facilitators and Barriers of On-Demand HIV Pre-Exposure Prophylaxis: A Mixed Methods Study

Matthew Spinelli, MD

POC Assay to Motivate Adherence in Clinical Populations at High Risk of Poor PrEP Adherence and HIV Infection

Funded in 2018

In 2018, the ARI supported Strategic Awards for a third year. The 2018 awardees are:

Ali Mirzazadeh, PhD, MD, MPH

Behaviors and New Infections of HIV and HCV in a Cohort of People Who Inject Drugs in Iran; Rostam Study

Meghan Morris, PhD, MPH

Informing the Local Response to the Hepatitis C Virus-HIV Co-Infection Epidemic

Matthew Spinelli, MD

Development of Point of Care Immunoassay for Detecting Tenofovir in Urine: A Real-Time PrEP Adherence Metric

Carol Camlin, PhD

Understanding Mobility and Risk in SEARCH Communities


Funded in 2017

In 2017, the ARI supported Strategic Awards for a second year. With the 2017 awards, detailed below, we targeted awards for postdocs who had lost a key federal funding source:

  • A new policy at the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Disease (NIAID) discontinued funding for essential pilot awards for postdocs. Postdocs rely on pilot funding like this to establish their research portfolios and advance in their careers.
    • ARI quickly created a stopgap grant mechanism to provide pilot research support for the postdocs impacted by the NIAID policy.
    • These funds enabled 6 postdocs to proceed with their pilot research projects - filling a potentially career-threatening gap in research support.
  • ARI joined calls from across the country for NIAID to continue funding essential pilot awards. The NIAID policy has since been reversed and the pilot grants—now more in demand than ever—are expected to continue.

Michael Reid, MD, MPH

Evaluating the inflammation and microbial translocation on the development of insulin resistance in HIV-infected adults in the UGANDAAC cohort

Emily Tuthill, PhD

Patient and provider knowledge and attitudes about infant feeding among HIV-infected women

Orlando Harris, PhD, RN, FNP, MPH

Bio-Behavioral surveillance study of transgender women in Jamaica

Aaloke Mody, MD

Patient-provider communication on adherence among HIV-positive patients in Zambia

Angelo Asa Clemenzi-Allen, MD

Unstable housing and outcomes in HIV: Evaluating the impact of unstable housing on early clinical outcomes in HIV

Pamela Murnane, PhD

Antiretrovial treatment in pregnancy and the risk of preterm birth


Funded in 2016

Catherine Koss, MD

PrEP Uptake Among At-Risk HIV-Uninfected Women

Teri Leigler, PhD

Develop Tat/rev Inducible Limiting Dilution Assay (TILDA)

Sheri A. Lippman, PhD, MPH (PI)
Wayne T. Steward, PhD, MPH (Co-I)

Filling Funding Shortfall of I-Care Study